ln software backdoor

Does Lightning really have a “backdoor” that could compromise the network?

26th October, 2023

Recently, a new debate shook the community of bitcoiners on social networks in particular, concerning the possibility of a security breach on the Lightning network.

The developer Antoine Riard at the origin of the debate had published a tweet in which he declared the presence of a vulnerability in layer 2, which could be dramatic if it was not resolved.

After hundreds of questions and answers on this flaw, Antoine Riard later clarified that this vulnerability is not an intentional “backdoor” (see “backdoor" in computer science).

Remember that a backdoor is a functionality unknown to the user of a software which nevertheless gives secret access to the latter. This is the bane of all software, especially those that are supposed to protect user privacy.

A vulnerability in Lightning Network?

The developer of Lightning Network clarified his first message by saying that his tweet had been overinterpreted and that few critics had been able to understand what it was really about. He strongly rejected the idea that had been circulating that he had maliciously exposed the flaw so that people with bad intentions could exploit it. He also added avenues to resolve the problem raised in his text. In addition, he specifies in his last email that this alleged flaw in no way calls into question the competence or know-how of the community of bitcoin and Lightning developers.

He also specifies that potential attacks that could exploit this flaw would be extremely sophisticated to implement, while people relayed the information immediately saying that the entire Bitcoin network would be in danger. It's wrong. This backdoor would require significant deployment to develop and very detailed knowledge of the use of the peer-to-peer network without the bitcoin network itself being really affected.

Antoine Riard then calls for more responsibility on the part of the specialized and general public media. He calls for “responsible journalism” regarding the dissemination of sensitive information of this type. He recalled that this vulnerability was in fact well known since 2022 and that it was important that the media show more responsibility in the processing of information and that they stop relaying information to engage in traffic.

His words on the subject are very clear: “If you are a journalist covering information in mainstream crypto publications, I suggest you wait for the opinion of expert journalists in the Bitcoin community, who have better knowledge of the subject and having the necessary perspective” to understand this type of problem.

He regrets that the spread of misinterpretations and errors by the media ultimately hindered the community's ability to seriously and deeply discuss solutions to resolve this problem in a “responsible and constructive” manner.

Backdoor resolution

This debate has reopened many opinions and criticisms about Lighting. For some media or companies, the Lightning wallet, despite its advantages, should not be used due to the problems it brings to the main bitcoin network. Thus, the communications team of account Samourai Wallet said that “the only change needed at the base level should be to permanently and irrevocably send the Lightning Network to the dustbin of history, where it belongs.” For them, very clearly, the Lightning Network should not exist.

This is a radical position to say the least and explains why the wallet is not compatible with the Lightning Network. They are at least consistent in their words, we want to say.

Other people have posted rather positive reactions, insisting that the issues raised make it possible to correct and strengthen the Bitcoin protocol.

Indeed, bitcoin is open source software and the discoveries of bugs, backdoors, vulnerabilities and the scalability of Bitcoin In reality, they enable the security and operation of the network to be increasingly strengthened. In short, it is a good thing for the Bitcoin ecosystem in general.

For now, Payments on the Lightning Network are growing exponentially and the trend is not ready to stop...

👨🏼‍🏫 Read other related articles:


Note: No financial advice is given in this or any other article on zonebitcoin. This is information of which you are the sole judge and master. Be responsible with your investments and only invest as much as you are willing to lose.

Our affiliate links:

 Buy cryptocurrencies (the easy way):

  • Public chat Binance (Get 10% off)
  • Buy cryptocurrencies on bybit !

Generate interest on your cryptocurrencies:

  • Public chat Youhodler (Earn up to 12% interest)

Secure your cryptocurrencies:

 To have fun and play 

Total
0
Shares

ZoneBitcoin Editorial

Passionate about Bitcoin, our editors try to democratize their knowledge through varied articles touching on different subjects.

Comment

Leave comments

Your email address Will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce unwanted. Learn more about how your comments data is used.

Total
0
Share

Learn more about ZoneBitcoin

Subscribe to continue reading and have access to the entire archive.

Continue reading

Trade crypto on Changelly

changelly

Crypto tracker

coinstats app

On Google

googlenews

Do not miss :

crypto EURM spain

The Spanish Central Bank launches a pilot project for the EURM crypto

The central bank of Spain (El Banco de España) has just approved
trial

“We are all Satoshi Nakamoto, except Craig Wright”

The judge has just ruled and declared that despite

backdoor logiciel ln

Le Lightning a-t-il réellement une “backdoor” pouvant compromettre le réseau?

26 octobre 2023

Récemment, un nouveau débat à secoué la communauté de bitcoiners sur les réseaux sociaux notamment, concernant la possibilité d’une faille de sécurité sur le réseau Lightning.

Le développeur Antoine Riard à l’origine du débat avait publié un tweet dans lequel il avait déclaré la présence d’une vulnérabilité dans le layer 2, qui pourraient être dramatique si elle n’était pas résolue.

Après des centaines de questions-réponses sur cette faille, Antoine Riard a précisé par la suite que cette vulnérabilité n’est pas une “backdoor” intentionnelle (cf “porte dérobée” en informatique).

Rappelons qu’une backdoor est une fonctionnalité inconnue de l’utilisateur d’un logiciel qui donne pourtant un accès secret à ce dernier. C’est la bête noire de tous les logiciels surtout pour ceux qui sont censés protéger la vie privée des utilisateurs.

Une vulnérabilité dans Lightning Network?

Le développeur du Lightning Network a clarifié son premier message en affirmant que son tweet avait été interprété de façon excessive et que peu de critiques avaient su comprendre de quoi il s’agissait en réalité. Il a fortement rejeté l’idée qui avait circulé disant qu’il avait montré la faille de façon malveillante pour que des personnes mal-intentionné puissent l’exploiter. Il a d’ailleurs ajouté dans son texte des pistes pour résoudre le problème soulevé. En outre, il précise de son dernier email que cette prétendue faille ne remet aucunement en question la compétence ou le savoir-faire de la communauté des développeurs bitcoin et Lightning.

Il précise également que les attaques potentielles pouvant exploiter cette faille seraient extrêmement sophistiquées à mettre en place, tandis que des personnes ont relayés l’information immédiatement en disant que tout le réseau Bitcoin serait en danger. C’est faux. Cette backdoor nécessiterait un déploiement important de développer et une connaissance très fine de l’utilisation du réseau peer-to-peer sans pour autant que le réseau bitcoin lui-même soit réellement touché.

Antoine Riard appelle alors à plus de responsabilité de la part des médias spécialisés et grand public. Il appelle à un ” journalisme responsable” concernant la diffusion des informations sensibles de ce type. Il a rappelé que cette vulnérabilité était en réalité bien connu depuis 2022 et qu’il était importants que les médias fassent preuve de plus de responsabilité dans le traitement de l’information et qu’ils cessent de relayer des informations pour engager du trafic.

Ses propos sur le sujet sont très clairs : “Si vous êtes un journaliste couvrant l’information dans les publications crypto grand public, je vous suggère d’attendre l’avis des journalistes experts de la communauté Bitcoin, ayant une meilleure connaissance du sujet et ayant un recul nécessaire” pour comprendre ce type de problème.

Il regrette que la propagation de mauvaises interprétations et d’erreurs par les médias aient finalement empêché la capacité de la communauté à discuter sérieusement et profondément des solutions pour résoudre ce problème de manière “responsable et constructive”.

Résolution de la backdoor

Ce débat a réouvert de nombreuses opinions et critiques au sujet du Lighting. Pour certains médias ou entreprises, le Lightning wallet malgré ses avantages ne devrait pas être utilisé en raison des problèmes qu’il apporte sur le réseau bitcoin principale. Ainsi, l’équipe de communication du compte X de Samourai Wallet a déclaré que “la seule modification nécessaire au niveau de base devrait être d’envoyer de manière permanente et irrévocable le réseau Lightning à la poubelle de l’histoire, là où il appartient.” Pour eux, très clairement, le réseau Lightning ne devrait pas exister.

C’est une position pour le moins radicale et qui explique pourquoi le portefeuille n’est pas compatible avec le Lightning Network. Ils sont au moins cohérent dans leurs propos, avons-nous envie de dire.

D’autres personnes ont affiché des réactions plutôt positives en insistant sur le fait que les problématiques soulevées permettent de corriger et de renforcer le protocole Bitcoin.

En effet, bitcoin est un logiciel open source et les découvertes de bug, de backdoor, de vulnérabilités et de la scalabilité du Bitcoin permettent en réalité de renforcer toujours plus profondément la sécurité et le fonctionnement du réseau. En somme, c’est une bonne chose pour l’écosystème Bitcoin dans son ensemble.

Pour l’heure, les paiements sur le réseau Lightning connaissent une hausse exponentielle et la tendance n’est pas prête de s’arrêter…

👨🏼‍🏫 Lire d’autres articles liés :


Remarque : Aucun conseil financier n’est donné dans cet article ni dans tout autre article sur zonebitcoin. Il s’agit d’information dont vous êtes le seul juge et maitre. Soyez responsable de vos investissements et n’investissez qu’une somme dont vous êtes prêt à perdre.

Nos liens affiliés :

 Acheter des cryptomonnaies ( de façon simple):

  • Sur Binance ( Obtenez 10% de réduction)
  • Acheter des cryptomonnaies sur Bybit !

Générez des intérêts sur vos cryptomonnaies:

  • Sur Youhodler ( Gagnez jusqu’à 12% d’intérêts)

Sécurisez vos cryptomonnaies:

 Pour se divertir et jouer 

Total
0
Shares

La Rédaction ZoneBitcoin

Passionnés par le Bitcoin, nos rédacteurs tentent de démocratiser leurs connaissances à travers des articles variés et touchant différents sujets.

1 Comment

Laisser un commentaire

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Total
0
Share

En savoir plus sur ZoneBitcoin

Abonnez-vous pour poursuivre la lecture et avoir accès à l’ensemble des archives.

Continue reading

Échangez des cryptos sur Changelly

changelly

Tracker de crypto

coinstats app

Sur Google

googlenews

Ne ratez pas :

TOKEN TITAN chute

L’incroyable chute du Titan d’Iron Finance…Bank Run historique.

Avec un nom pareil, on pouvait s’attendre à une chute,
Dellavedova BASKET

Dellavedova : L’ancien coéquipier de LeBron James rejoint Swan Bitcoin

Le champion NBA Matthew Dellavedova rejoint Swan Bitcoin, une plateforme